Campbell University

Campbell University is a university in Buies Creek, NC.  Campbell is a coeducational, church-related (Baptist) university. The school promotes the awareness and dedication to Christian principles. It is a university of the liberal arts and sciences; offering both theory and vocational education.

Campbell University was founded as a community school in 1887 and was called Buies Creek Academy. It North Carolina preacher James Archibald Campbell was the founder of the Academy and  wanted to open the school to qualified students  even if they lacked the necessary funds.

In 1926, the school attained junior college status and changed its name from Buies Creek Academy to Campbell Junior College. In 1961, When Campbell became a senior college in 1979, the name was changed to Campbell University.

Graduate programs were begun in 1977 with the Master of Education degree. The Master of Business Administration degree was added in 1978 and the Master of Science in Government was established in 1982.

The Norman Adrian Wiggins School of Law was founded in 1976, and the Lundy-Fetterman School of Business was begun in 1983. The Pharmacy School and School of Education were established in 1985. The Divinity School was established in 1995.

Contact Us